Expat Blog Hop

I wanted to join in this Expat Blog Hop to share my love for exploring the literary and artistic side of Paris. I’ve been following in the footsteps of Hemingway, Monet, Van Gogh, Renoir and Coco Chanel, just to name a few.

I am an avid reader and an artist so I see the world through a literary and artistic lens. When my husband first got his assignment in Paris, the first thing I did was go to my own bookshelves and my local bookstore to gather up as many books about Paris and Paris artists as I could. I used to have to imagine the characters walking down the streets of Paris, wondering, is that Left Bank or Right? Shabby or chic? I wonder if that café or art studio is still there?

Now that I live in Paris I don’t need to wonder anymore. I just go exploring with my books and my camera and my sketchbook. I search out the sites from my favorite books and paintings, and I discover the most lovely places. Quiet cobblestone alleys, busy boulevards, majestic old hôtels particulieur, north-facing art studios with walls of windows, the parks and gardens and bridges of Paris . . .  and I feel like I’ve known them all my life. Now that I’m here in Paris ( I’m here, I’m really here!) it feels like a reunion with good friends.

I hope you’ll enjoy sharing my discoveries. . .  my reunions.

If you leave a comment below, you’ll be eligible to win a copy of one of the books that I have blogged about.

Check out the other blogs participating in this Expat Blog Hop at http://www.bloginfrance.com.

15 thoughts on “Expat Blog Hop

  1. I enjoyed exploring your blog today and will be back again! I live in Brussels and love visiting Paris as often as I can, but I spend most of my french life in Brittany which has fabulous light for photography and a great artistic history. You can catch more about it at http://thebeachhousefrance.wordpress.com. Hoping to see some of your sketches in future posts!
    Lizzi

    Like

  2. What a great idea to blog following the footsteps of writers and artists in Paris. I hope you enjoy your year in Paris. I’m also a contributing blogger on the blog hop and have lived in SW France for 15 years. I don’t get to Paris as often as I’d like…

    Like

  3. Hey fellow blog hopper! Great idea. Paris is so beautiful and fun to explore no matter which path you take, but following specific books might make it even more fun.

    Like

  4. It has been a real pleasure tagging along on your adventures and discovering new parts of Paris via your blog!

    May your sojourn in Paris and your “reunion with good friends” last for a long time!

    Like

  5. One of these days I shall come sketching with you, in the meantime my easel is propped up in Rouen. Not far away, only a shame the kids don’t like eating in the cantine!! Great to have discovered your blog;

    Like

  6. I’m showing my bias by saying I headed straight for your book reviews – they are fab! Especially the one on Leaving Van Gogh. And yes, The Hare with Amber Eyes is a fantastic read. Bonne continuation!

    Like

  7. I want to follow you around for a week! I’m sure that I would see Paris in a whole new light. I am a very big fan of books by and about the Fitzgeralds and Hemingways and this was before we moved to Paris… I can’t wait to continue reading about your experiences! best, kristen

    Like

  8. It doesn’t sound like my favorite “girl” would have made it into the American Girls Art Club in Paris. Gertrude Stein would have been one of the bohemians. Sounds like you are too! Nice to meet you!

    Like

Comments are closed.